The British Army Motorsports Association (BAMA) was formed in 1960 for the purpose of co-ordinating motorised wheeled driver training in the Army and in the form of competitive motorsport events and to represent the interests of Army Motor Sports at Service, National and International level. In 2010 BAMA was awarded the status of ‘Recognised Sport’ and organised itself into 3 Groups covering 8 motorsport disciplines; Navigation, Sports Car racing, Karting and Rallying are 4 wheel activities with Trials Enduro, Road Race and Adventure activities for the motorcycles.

All participants are members of BAMA which as an organisation operates under the rules and regulation of the Army Sports Control Board and is affiliated to their respective National Governing Bodies of the Motorsports Association (MSA) and the Auto Cycle Union (ASU).

The links at the bottom of this webpage will direct you to the disciplines you may have an interest or would like to get involved in. You will be able to find out about the opportunities available, how to participate and who to contact within that specific Motorsport discipline in order to give you more direction.



May, 19 - 20 Trials Thruxton
May, 22 Plains rally Wales
May, 28 - 30 Roadsports + Club Enduro Round 2 Darlington
May, 30 - 31 DST Leconfield Targa Rally Beverley
May, 30 - 31 Melbourne Stages Yorkshire
Jun, 05 - 06 Abingdon CAR-nival Rally Abingdon
Jun, 05 4×4 Driving & Navigation – Roadmaster Leconfield
Jun, 09 - 13 Round 1 Armed Forces Karting Championship Llandow
Jun, 13 - 14 Flying Fortress Northamptonshire
Jun, 18 - 20 AFRC Round 2 Anglesey
Jun, 19 - 22 Kielder Stages Rally Kielder
Jun, 20 - 21 Mid Summer Stages Caerwent
Jun, 24 - 25 Rally North Wales Dolgellau
Jun, 25 - 27 Roadsports+Club Enduro Round 3 Brands Hatch
Jun, 27 Hertfordshire Stages Rally Hertford
View all fixtures


  • President – Maj Gen Simon Hutchings CBE
  • Chairman – Col Chris Henson QGM
  • SecretaryMaj Tony Philogene
  • TreasurerMaj Jenny Long
  • Assurance/Safety – WO2 (AQMS) Ian Rowatt
  • Media OfficerMrs Victoria Henson
  • NED Trustee – Lt Col (Retd) Ian Licence



  • Team Director AFRT – Maj (Retd) Alan Paramore
  • Female Rep – Maj Jennifer Long
  • Membership Rep – Cpl Ritchie Penfold
  • Padre Motorsport – Lt Col Antony Feltham-White